What’s Your Bra Color?

8 Jan

I’m not sure how it started but when I logged on to Facebook yesterday evening most of my girl friends had colors as their status. I was extremely confused as were you most likely. After some investigating/stalking of comments from people asking what was with the colors I discovered it was linked to supporting the fight against breast cancer.

With family members that have died from different forms of cancer, a friend’s mom passing in 5th grade from breast cancer and another friend’s mom survived, I’ve always been very passionate about finding a cure. Next year I’m even hoping to walk with my friend in memory of her mom (going to school in different states prevented this in the past).

Guys were completely left in the dark on purpose as described in the little note I discovered in my inbox. But was this a mistake in the overall campaign? A small percentage of men have been diagnosed with breast cancer, so why not include them? If this were a real campaign, men should have definitely been included.

Clearly someone started this and hoped it would spread throughout Facebook. Well it worked!! It obviously also caught the attention of many in the Twitter world. Amanda Mueller from Cashman + Katz tweeted “If anyone doubts the reach of viral marketing…check your Facebook statuses and see how many colors you see…perfect example.” Could you imagine if this was a real campaign? Initially I thought maybe it was started by the fan page of Pink Ribbons, supporting the fight of breast cancer, but I was wrong.

Personally I think if updating a Facebook status to a color brought in tremendous amounts of results, a company or celebrity should take this idea and run. I’ve seen so many viral campaigns over the past year, mainly on Twitter, such as Ashton Kutcher v. CNN and Hugh Jackman’s promise. Ashton not only promoted himself but also Twitter, Ted Turner, and CNN and Hugh promised to donate $10,000 to a fan’s favorite charity. Umm love her and the show but I’m sure Kim Kardashian could donate the money she gets for tweeting to a charity.

Did you post your color? If you haven’t will you post it? (My friends are still posting their colors today.) As a PR person how would you have carried out this campaign?

6 Responses to “What’s Your Bra Color?”

  1. Sheema January 8, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I think its an extremely clever campaign, but I wish there was something that went with it to educate others about breast cancer. Funnily enough, no one on my newsfeed has done it yet, but I may do it to see the response I get!

    • Britt January 8, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      I agree. More should have been done with the campaign. It could have become so much bigger. Wow really? Maybe the message didn’t reach London.

      • Sheema January 8, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

        I would be interested to see where/just how it originated. I’m American and most of my FB are still American, so I’m surprised that it’s not showing up on my wall!

  2. Abby January 8, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    It was pretty neat to watch this take off yesterday. I personally didn’t get the “official” Facebook message until last night.

    What’s so cool about this is that in essence, it was really only a chain letter being passed around — because there doesn’t seem to be any sponsors or a campaign surrounding it. Like both you and Sheema said, if something official had been tied into this, it could have been a really successful awareness campaign.

    With the rise of social media and taking campaigns to the digital space, it will be interesting to see which brands run with this idea. It will also be interesting to see how SM users will respond to an idea like this if it’s coming from an actual brand or business. Many of us do all we can with Facebook privacy settings, etc. to make sure companies aren’t interfering with our lives online.

    Of course there’s a big difference between a major brand with big bucks to spend on a viral campaign and a charitable organization trying to raise awareness. Regardless, I’m interested to see if this idea takes off.

  3. thatShortChick January 8, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    I didn’t “get it” until late last night and my gripe with the widespread chain message was that there wasn’t anything useful tied to posting colors. There should’ve been a hashtag (what can I say, I’m addicted to Twitter!) or some sort of code to put in with the bra color status update so that whatever organization or individual who is behind this could’ve matched a $1 (it could’ve even been 1 cent) for every message posted.

    It would have been SO MUCH more effective.

    p.s. I found your blog via Mikinzie’s (thePRepguide). so far so good!

  4. Abby January 11, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Update: I saw that White House | Black Market and Soma Intimates (Chico’s brands) decided to jump on this. They offered to donate $1 to Living Beyond Breast Cancer for every bra color posted to their Facebook fan pages.

Leave a Reply

