You’re Nothing Without Your Tools

19 May

Photo by the tartanpodcast

Everyone has certain tools on the Internet they can’t live without. I’ll admit that when  I wake up, the first things I do are turn on the TV and check Twitter. You’d think I’d turn to the news but I just discovered Boy Meets World is on at 7 so Twitter becomes my news source. Here are my tools go to that I couldn’t live without:

  1. TweetDeck–After starting Twitter, I tried many different tools to get my tweets faster. Thanks to David Teicher and Sasha Muradali I am a total TweetDeck fan. It’s always open and I have probably about 15 columns open for two Twitter accounts, my class hashtag, random PR related stuff and the many chats I participate in weekly/monthly. TweetDeck is definitely worth looking into for those who haven’t tried it out yet.
  2. Facebook–It’s been 4 years since I discovered something a million times better than MySpace. Facebook has become my way of keeping up with all my friends miles away and reconnecting with one’s nearly 3,000 miles away.
  3. Gmail–After years of being loyal to AOL, I made the switch over to Gmail and have loved every minute. Sending out emails to employers with based off nicknames from friends just didn’t seem appropriate. Using Gmail has also allowed me to use Gchat which I’m in love with since I don’t have to be signed on AIM to talk to people.
  4. Google Reader–Also another recommendation from my tweeps during a chat. Google Reader allows me to get almost all my news in one place. It also helps me not have to bookmark all the amazing blogs I read on a daily basis.
  5. LinkedIn–I am constantly updating my profile and reaching out to others via LinkedIn. Once I was even asked by someone why I reached out to them prior to my interview. That caught me totally of guard since it’s something people do normally. Personally I think it’s a great way to connect with other professionals and learn a bit about their background.
  6. Pandora–Where would I be without my Fall Out Boy, Backstreet Boys and Glee stations?? Probably going insane on not being able to listen to music all day.
  7. Tumblr–I discovered this mini blogging site and will totally admit that I follow a lot of cupcake blogs. Only bad part is that I can’t eat the amazing cupcakes people post.
  8. MLB–Being a huge Yankee fan, I am always on MLB checking out what’s going on around the league. I’m sure when I get a smart phone it’ll be one of my apps.
  9. AIM–It’s very 1998 but I must said it’s the easiest way to get a hold of someone besides my cell. Though Gchat is starting to win my heart.
  10. WordPress–When I first started blogging, Blogger was my choice but quickly realized that I was very limited to many things and WordPress offered more to blogging.

This post was actually inspired by a post Kellee Montgomery who did a post on her favorite online products. It got me to thinking of all the different online products I use if not on a daily basis, very frequently. After seeing my list do you think I’m missing any?

4 Responses to “You’re Nothing Without Your Tools”

  1. Ashley May 20, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    I love Boy Meets World! One of my all time favorite TV shows! I agree with you on TweetDeck: LOVE it! I downloaded it a good while back and then stopped using it (for some crazy reason). I reunited with it yesterday and I am SO glad I did so. It’s simply amazing! I have never heard of Google Reader, but I am definitely going to check it out now. It sounds like something I would really enjoy having. 🙂

    Great post! Love your list of things you can’t live without!

    • Britt May 20, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

      I was so happy when I heard Boy Meets World comes on but I’m rarely up that early anymore since school is over. Honestly I don’t know where I’d be without my TweetDeck. It totally keeps everything in order especially for all my chats and hash tags that I follow. Google Reader is amazing. Deirdre Breakenridge recommended it to me and it’s how I read some of my news and all my blogs.

  2. Jen May 25, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Great list! It’s hard to imagine life without No. 2-5. TweetDeck and Tumblr are two tools that I definitely want to check out sometime soon. I have heard great things about Pandora but too bad it’s not available in Canada… I can’t wait to check it out once I move to NYC!

    Do you find that Tumblr is an easier tool to use for a first-time blogger?

    Awesome stuff!

    • Britt May 31, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks. TweetDeck is absolutely amazing. It let’s you keep your searches for hashtags. Pandora is AMAZING!! Love being able to listen to music anywhere. Tumblr is pretty easy. I use it just as a fun kind of personal blog.

Leave a Reply

