#PRStudChat 2010 Graduate Honoree

1 Jun

Many of you most likely saw the fabulous #PRStudChat post put together on me by Bethany Cramer. In the spirit of celebrating all that were graduating this May, Bethany was so nice to interview me, which gave me the idea to interview her. With the end of her college career ending and journeying off into the real world, Bethany definitely deserves to have the spotlight on her.

Bethany is an outstanding May 2010 graduate from SUNY Geneseo and from the moment we first connected, I knew she was an amazing person I had to get to know better. From her blog and Twitter, Bethany’s true personality comes out and will definitely draw you in to learn more about her. She has focused her job search in the Pittsburgh and Ohio areas but is up for the beautiful area of New England if given the opportunity. Hopefully this post shows you some of the amazingness of Bethany and you’re able to connect with her just as I have.

Brittany (BJ):What are five fun facts you’d want people to know about you?
Bethany (BC)  1. I am always listening to music; I can’t live without it.
2. The Pittsburgh Steelers and Penguins are my favorite sport teams.
3. Nothing makes me happier than being on the water.
4. I may have a slight case of perfectionism…
5. I am itching to join the professional world!

BJ: Why did you choose PR and what kind of background do you have?

BC: I chose PR because I love the hectic and highly involved nature of the field. I have always been a people person by nature, and a profession that is based on building meaningful relationships couldn’t be more perfect. Also, who can forget my lifelong love for writing 🙂 I do not have the typical background. I studied Business Administration at SUNY Geneseo, a small honors college in upstate NY. To learn more about PR and marketing I completed multiple internships during my undergraduate career. I worked in the PR, Account Services and Interactive departments at the marketing agency Dixon Schwabl, learning PR practices, client interactions and social media. I also completed a PR internship with the National Kidney Foundation, working on events and fund-raising.

BJ: As a recent graduate, where are you looking to begin your career and why?

BC: I would like to begin my career in a city where I can gain a great deal of experience. Particularity in Pittsburgh, PA or the popular cities of Ohio. I am also a fan on the New England area. Obviously I am not very picky! 🙂

BJ: Is there one course you took in the past four years that really impacted you?

BC: My “PR Case Studies” class provided me with the most hands-on experience. We worked with near by towns, aiding to their revamping processes. We were assigned clients and helped rebrand their personal businesses and their town overall. My group was actually chosen to present our rebranding ideas in front of the College Council. It was a great learning experience and really got me excited for the world or PR.

BJ: If you weren’t doing PR, what would be your career path?

BC: I have a strong interest in Advertising. I love to pick apart commercials and stay up to date on developing marketing trends. If I were to go back to school it might be for Advertising or Brand Management.

2 Responses to “#PRStudChat 2010 Graduate Honoree”

  1. bethanyrc June 1, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Thanks so much for doing this interview! It is always a pleasure working with you 🙂

    • Britt June 1, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

      I’m so glad we got to work together too. It was great getting to know each other a little better through our interviews=)

Leave a Reply

