#Reverb10 – Day 3 (Moment)

3 Dec

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

It took no time to think of my response to prompt 3. There is one moment in the past year that definitely won’t compare even though I was absolutely hot and trying not to sweat.

On May 16, 2010, after 17 LONG years I finished school, graduating from Quinnipiac with a degree in public relations. Never did I imagine that day would come but there I was sitting on the quad in little Hamden with a whole construction scene behind me, the school library to my side and Sleeping Giant right in front of me. All any of us could think was how ridiculously it was hot to be sitting in black graduation robes and as Bill Nye spoke we watched the clouds roll over the mountain and cover the sun so we could be comfortable.

My college graduation was definitely my moment of 2010 that made me feel alive. Nothing will compare to the completion of something I’ve been working towards my whole life.

Update:

PS. Everyone chanted “Bill” and the School of Communications was the loudest section (not surprising). We were proud of ourselves 🙂

2 Responses to “#Reverb10 – Day 3 (Moment)”

  1. Sarah Nicolas December 3, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Bill Nye spoke at your graduation?!?! I love that guy. All we got was some random lady that told us how much the world sucked and there wasn’t a good chance that we’d make it any better.

    • Britt December 3, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

      Yeah everyone chanted Bill. Great times. Eww that’s no fun.

Leave a Reply

