#Reverb10 – Day 6 (Make)

6 Dec

December 6 – Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

My something isn’t actually a thing you can hold or see and I’ve been working on it for the past year. Well I guess you can see it because it’s actually me!

OK let me explain. What I have made is my brand of being Bitty Boop. Being in PR, you hear about brands and branding yourself all the time. Well that is exactly what I have done. I’ve built a brand that people refer to me as like Rachel Sprung. She refuses to call me Brittany.

Part of this success was listening and then adding in my two cents. When I first started Bitty Boop, it was only my Twitter handle but now you can find it across a lot of my platforms. It’s what people know me as and I don’t plan on changing it. I do have to give a lot of credit to my best friend who added the “boop” to my nickname “Bitty.” Thanks Mara!

I’d definitely say if you haven’t made your brand, work on it for 2011. It’ll get you far like getting noticed by companies. MTV noticed me right after I graduated 🙂

7 Responses to “#Reverb10 – Day 6 (Make)”

  1. mark December 6, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    I wanted to do the same thing, but I keep having “better” ideas…which means I can’t make up my mind. Le Sigh….

    • Britt December 6, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

      I used to be something boring and that no one would remember. I seriously have people calling me Bitty Boop whenever we meet IRL.

  2. Dani in NC December 6, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    I’m not exactly trying to get noticed by a company or anything, but I’ve been known as “Dani in NC” in all the internet spots I frequent for at least 10 years. I never thought of it as my brand, but I guess it is.

    • Britt December 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

      You should honor it as a brand. I mean I wasn’t trying to get noticed by MTV but I just did my thing and people took notice.

  3. Carlee Mallard December 7, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    A personal brand is hard to build, but you’ve done it. Congrats! My sister and I knew you as “bitty boop” even back in March when we came to visit the first time!

  4. Allison Blass December 8, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    It doesn’t hurt that you have a super cute nickname! My online handle is “AMBlass’ – so it’s just my name, nothing very fun. Definitely helps to have something catchy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention #Reverb10 – Day 6 « It's Me Brittany…. -- Topsy.com - December 6, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Radio Nowhere and Jessica Malnik, Brittany James. Brittany James said: Just put up my Day 6 post for #Reverb10. I LOVE what I made 🙂 http://bit.ly/hzYBej cc @reverb10 […]

Leave a Reply

