#Reverb10 – Day 7 (Community)

8 Dec

December 7 – Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

In 2010, I discovered community in the form of Twitter chats. I started #PRStudChat and #JournChat at the end of 2009 and continued to join more and more in 2010. These chats included #JobHuntChat, #U30Pro, and #PR20Chat, where I have met some amazing people.

From all the of these chats, I have met some GREAT people that I look up to and respect within the PR industry. With all the networking online, I have been able to take some of the talking offline and meet some of the people I’ve talked with in the chats.

In 2011, I’m going to continue to network and build a community through chats but also another way. While in school I was part of PRSSA and tried to be as involved as possible. Now that I’m in PRSA, I will continue this and attend more events to meet and network with professionals. What a better way to learn about the PR industry than meet with experienced professionals? I’ve already seen a few events that I definitely plan on attending.

Leave a Reply

