#Reverb10 – Day 29 (Defining Moment)

31 Dec

December 29 – Defining Moment Describe a defining moment or series of events that has affected your life this year.

For this prompt, I should say graduation but my defining moment actually came about a week and half after graduation (I believe). I was taking my brother into the oral surgeon and I got a phone call from someone at MTV. Since the building had horrible service, I went out into the 90 degree weather and as I learned that I had been chosen for the TJ contest, let’s just say I was jumping up and down. Thinking back on it, I can only imagine the people in the office building must have thought, “who is this crazy girl in a dress jumping up and down in parking lot when it’s so hot out?”

The amount of excitement I had made it very hard to not tell people I had been chosen. So many of my friends who heard about the contest texted, IMed, and Facebooked me saying I should try and join to win. Little did they know MTV had basically stalked me and chose me to be part of the top 20. To be recognized by MTV is just amazing within itself. When I first started looking into PR, my dream job was actually at MTV and putting together the VMAs. Who knows maybe that will happen one day. Thanks to MTV & this contest I was able to meet some amazing people who I absolutely love.

By MTV realizing my potential in social media, it has made me realize I made the right choice to join Twitter and “meet” new people every week. When I initially signed up for Twitter, it was just very random and following a lot of celebrities. Now I know its potential and see mine.

Leave a Reply

